Chargement...
  • (514) 694-0013 [EXT. 224]

Droit de la famille — 161621, 2016 QCCS 3146 (CanLII)

July 6, 2016

Issue: How should the custody and access rights to the children be established?  Complete Decision.

The Facts: The parties were married September 16, 2006. Four children were born from their union.  On January 9, 2014 the parties separated. Under their July 2014 agreement, the mother has custody of the children and the father has access rights every second weekend. Since June 2015, the father resides close to the school that the children attend.  The father asks for shared custody.  The mother contests.

Decision: The Court must evaluate the modalities of child custody to be awarded in function of the criteria established by the Court of Appeal, some of which are: the stability of the child; the capacity of the parents to communicate and the absence of conflicts.

The proof demonstrates that since the separation the father has had little involvement in the educational and medical matters of the children. The mother continues to assume alone the required follow-up in this regard. The mother keeps the father informed at the opportune time, however to date, the father has not organized himself to be present at the medical appointments of the children.

The father has great difficulty in accepting that he has the responsibility to assume his obligation of support towards the children.  He threatens to quit his employment to avoid paying support for the children.  The shared custody that the father asks for is directly linked to his desire to reduce his support payments for the children.

At this time, the communications between the parties are not constructive and do not favour establishing shared custody which requires a minimum degree of openness and communication focused on the needs of the children.  The Court maintains custody with the mother and grants the father access rights every second weekend.

Chargement...
  • (514) 694-0013 [EXT. 224]

Droit de la famille — 161621, 2016 QCCS 3146 (CanLII)

Le 6 juillet 2016

Point en litige: Quelles modalités de garde et d’accès aux enfants doivent être établies?  Décision complète.

Les faits: Les parties se marient le 16 septembre 2006. De leur union naissent quatre enfants.    Le 9 janvier 2014, elles cessent de faire vie commune. Selon une entente, en juillet 2014, la garde des enfants est confiée à Madame et Monsieur bénéficie des droits d’accès à raison d’une fin de semaine sur deux.  Depuis juin 2015, Monsieur habite dans un logement situé à Ville A, à proximité des écoles des enfants. Monsieur demande l’instauration d’une garde partagée alors que Madame conteste.

Décision: Le Tribunal doit analyser les modalités de garde des enfants, en fonction des critères précisés par la Cour d’appel parmis ceux sont:   la stabilité de l’enfant; la capacité des parents de communiquer; l’absence de conflits.

La preuve démontre que, depuis la séparation, Monsieur s’implique peu dans le suivi scolaire et médical des enfants. Madame continue d’assurer seule les suivis requis à ces égards. Elle prend soin de tenir Monsieur informé en temps opportun, mais à ce jour, il n’a pas réussi à organiser son horaire pour être présent lors des rendez-vous médicaux des enfants.

Monsieur a beaucoup de difficultés à accepter qu’il a la responsabilité d’assumer son obligation alimentaire envers les enfants. Il menace de quitter son emploi pour éviter de payer une pension alimentaire pour les enfants. La garde partagée que Monsieur demande est intimement liée à son désir de réduire son obligation alimentaire envers les enfants.

À l’heure actuelle, leurs échanges ne sont pas constructifs et ne favorisent pas l’instauration d’une garde partagée, laquelle requiert un minimum d’ouverture et une communication adéquate axée sur les besoins des enfants. Le Tribunal maintient la garde des enfants en faveur de Madame et accorde à Monsieur les droits d’accès une fin de semaine sur deux.